There’s a long list of Cyprus passport visa free countries. A Cypriot passport enables you to travel visa free to more than 170 countries worldwide, including major nations in the European Union, the Middle East, Asia, and the Caribbean, without the need to obtain a visa.

In this article, we’ll outline the countries that enable Cypriot passport holders travel without a visa, nations that offer an arrival visa, and those that have a required visa.

Visa Free Countries for Cyprus Passport Holders

Cyprus passport holders have visa free access to all of the travel destinations in the above list, each with varying periods of stay. This visa free access allows Cypriot citizens to explore many nations around the world without the hassle of obtaining visas for each country they visit.

Albania Guatemala Peru
Andorra Haiti Philippines
Angola Honduras Poland
Antigua and Barbuda Hong Kong Portugal
Argentina Hungary Romania
Armenia Iceland Saint Kitts and Nevis
Austria Ireland Saint Lucia
Bahamas Israel Samoa
Barbados Italy San Marino
Belarus Jamaica Sao Tome and Principe
Belgium Japan Senegal
Belize Kazakhstan Serbia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Kenya Seychelles
Botswana Kiribati Singapore
Brazil Kyrgyzstan Slovakia
Brunei Darussalam Latvia Slovenia
Bulgaria Liechtenstein Solomon Islands
Cabo Verde Lithuania South Africa
Chile Luxembourg Spain
Colombia Macao Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Costa Rica Malaysia Sweden
Croatia Malta Switzerland
Czechia Marshall Islands Taiwan, Province of China
Denmark Mauritius Tanzania, United Republic of
Dominica Mexico Timor-Leste
Dominican Republic Micronesia, Federated States of Tonga
Ecuador Moldova, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
El Salvador Monaco Tuvalu
Estonia Mongolia Uganda
Eswatini Montenegro Ukraine
Fiji Morocco United Arab Emirates
Finland Netherlands United Kingdom
France Nicaragua Uruguay
Gabon North Macedonia Uzbekistan
Gambia Norway Vanuatu
Georgia Palau Holy See (Vatican City State)
Germany Palestine, State of Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
Greece Panama Zambia
Grenada Paraguay Zimbabwe

Visa on Arrival for Cyprus Passport Holders

Cyprus passport holders can access a variety of countries worldwide with a visa on arrival policy, eliminating the need to apply for visas in advance. This convenient arrangement allows for seamless border crossings and enables Cypriot citizens to explore new destinations without hassle.

Bahrain Iraq Oman
Bangladesh Jordan Qatar
Bolivia, Plurinational State of Kuwait Rwanda
Burundi Lao People's Democratic Republic Saudi Arabia
Cambodia Lebanon Sierra Leone
Comoros Madagascar Somalia
Egypt Malawi Tajikistan
Ethiopia Maldives Thailand
Ghana Mauritania Togo
Guinea-Bissau Mozambique Turkey
Indonesia Nepal

Countries that require eVisas for Cyprus Passport Holders

While Cyprus passport holders enjoy visa free or visa on arrival access to a majority of countries worldwide, certain destinations mandate the procurement of electronic visas (eVisas) prior to travel. These eVisas serve as authorizations to enter and temporarily stay in the respective countries.

Australia Djibouti Nigeria
Azerbaijan Equatorial Guinea Pakistan
Benin Guinea Papua New Guinea
Bhutan India Russian Federation
Burkina Faso Iran, Islamic Republic of Korea, Republic of
Cameroon Lesotho South Sudan
Canada Myanmar Sri Lanka
Congo, The Democratic Republic of the New Zealand Viet Nam
Côte d'Ivoire

Countries with Visa Requirements for Cyprus Passport Holders

While Cyprus passport holders generally enjoy visa free or visa on arrival access to a vast array of countries worldwide, certain destinations necessitate the acquisition of traditional visas prior to travel. These visas serve as official authorizations to enter and temporarily reside in these specific territories.

Afghanistan Guyana Sudan
Algeria Liberia Suriname
Central African Republic Libya Syrian Arab Republic
Chad Mali Tunisia
China Namibia Turkmenistan
Congo Nauru United States
Cuba Niger Yemen
Eritrea Korea, Democratic People's Republic of

Interested in obtaining a Cyprus Passport?
Get in touch with our team of specialists

Contact Us Arrow Icon

Frequently Asked Questions about Cyprus Visa Free Countries

How many countries do Cyprus passport holders have visa free access to?

Cyprus passport holders have visa free or visa on arrival access to 177 countries worldwide. This includes 144 countries with visa free access, 31 countries with visa-on-arrival access, and 22 countries with electronic visa (e visa) access.

Do Cyprus nationals need a visa to visit the USA?

Yes, Cypriot citizens need to obtain a valid visa (a B-1 or B-2 nonimmigrant visa) to visit the United States for tourism or business purposes.

Do Cypriots need a visa for Mexico?

Cypriot nationals do not require a visa to enter Mexico for tourism or business purposes. They can stay for up to 90 days in the country.

Cypriot nationals need to present the following documents to enter Mexico:

  • A valid Cyprus passport with at least six months of validity remaining.
  • A return ticket or onward ticket.
  • Sufficient proof of financial means to support their stay in Mexico.
  • Proof of accommodation in Mexico.

Do Cypriots need a visa for Canada?

No, Cypriot nationals do not need a visa to enter Canada for tourism or business purposes. However, they are required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) before their trip. The ETA is a multiple-entry permit that allows Cypriot nationals to stay in Canada for up to six months at a time. 

To apply for an ETA, Cypriot nationals will need to provide the following information:

  • Their full name and date of birth
  • Their passport number and expiry date
  • Their email address and contact information
  • Their travel plans, including their dates of entry and exit to Canada
  • Their occupation and employer’s contact information

The ETA application process is quick and easy, and it can be completed online in just a few minutes. The ETA application fee is CAD$7 (€5.20).

What is the Cyprus passport visa waiver program?

The Cyprus passport visa waiver program (or Cyprus passport visa waiver policy) grants Cypriot nationals visa free or visa on arrival access to over 170 countries worldwide. This opens up a world of travel opportunities for Cypriots, allowing them to explore diverse cultures and experience captivating destinations without the hassle of visa applications.

What are the visa requirements for Cyprus passport holders?

Cypriot passport holders enjoy visa free or visa on arrival access to over 170 countries worldwide. However, it is essential to check the respective nation’s visa regulations with the immigration authorities your travel destination country before embarking on your trip.

These regulations can change frequently, and ensuring you have the necessary documentation can prevent delays or complications at border crossings.